Can't "Save to Profile"

Encountering problems with Fireant's launcher or B7ADE's Server browser or having difficulties getting started? Post in here and we will help you the best we can!
Post Reply
virus
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:50 am

Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by virus » Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:23 pm

I'm running the .exe as Administrator
Edited the hosts file with the same info to host a server

OS: Windows 8.1
Attachments
NOHOSTS.png
NOHOSTS.png (4.66 KiB) Viewed 1524 times
NOHOSTSERROR.png
NOHOSTSERROR.png (23.22 KiB) Viewed 1524 times

User avatar
Fireant
Revengeance Engineer
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by Fireant » Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:28 pm

Well, how do you define "the .exe"? Is that my launcher (console only) or Blade server tool?

Edit, from first SS it seems to be mine, but quite old (i think). Could you try newest version from here https://drive.google.com/#folders/0B1sl ... zFocVoyWFk?

virus
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:50 am

Re: Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by virus » Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:17 pm

Sorry about that. That error was from Sir Blade's Browser.

This is what I get from Sir Fireant's Launcher.
Attachments
FireantLauncherError.png
FireantLauncherError.png (25.83 KiB) Viewed 1517 times

User avatar
Fireant
Revengeance Engineer
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by Fireant » Thu Mar 27, 2014 1:49 pm

Well run it as administrator :)

Its quite weird tho, i thought that i implemented that it should ask you for admin priviledges..

virus
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:50 am

Re: Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by virus » Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:08 am

It does ask for admin rights, but then opens as that anyway.

User avatar
AvaLoN
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:33 am

Re: Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by AvaLoN » Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:35 am

virus wrote:It does ask for admin rights, but then opens as that anyway.

It could also be a Anti-vir software that prevents the launcher changing the host file, I had the exact same problem and it turned out that my Anti-vir blocked the Launcher. :ugeek:

User avatar
Fireant
Revengeance Engineer
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by Fireant » Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:32 pm

Hmm that is indeed possible, i suppose changing hostfile isnt your every-day-sofware behavior...

HighDive
Revengeance Engineer
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 2:57 pm

Re: Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by HighDive » Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:10 am

Alright, going to update the launcher's download description, so it will tell people to run it as admin AND disable anti-virus software while running the launcher.

I will also forward an email to B7ADE and return with answers, once I got them.

HighDIve

virus
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:50 am

Re: Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by virus » Tue Jun 03, 2014 1:47 am

Fireant wrote:Hmm that is indeed possible, i suppose changing hostfile isnt your every-day-sofware behavior...
I just used your Launcher on my bros computer and it worked great. It first asked me to locate the TV_CD_DVD.exe which I never reached before. Once I located it, magic happened at it updated the in-game server browser with favorites. I was envious, so I did mine from scratch. Run as Admin, disabled AV, Firewall (just in case) and still have the error.

What does the exe do to the host file so I can do it manually? Call me anal, but its nice to see the in-game browser populated. :?

User avatar
tapir
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:35 pm

Re: Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by tapir » Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:57 pm

just add this line in C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts

Code: Select all

127.0.0.1 tribesv.available.gamespy.com

virus
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:50 am

Re: Can't "Save to Profile"

Post by virus » Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:23 pm

tapir wrote:just add this line in C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts

Code: Select all

127.0.0.1 tribesv.available.gamespy.com
Woot! Thanks Tapir.

Post Reply