playing on a laptop, can only play with built in moniter.

Having problems trying to play Tribes Vengeance? Encountering crashes, can't get a HUD to work, ... ?
Post in here!
Post Reply
sayno
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 1:18 am

playing on a laptop, can only play with built in moniter.

Post by sayno » Mon Sep 08, 2014 1:22 am

to be concise: I have a laptop with a relatively small built in monitor and a larger external monitor that I want to use. but only the built in one works. Hopefully you guys know how I can get this fixed. let me know what information you need if you need any.

User avatar
ShadeOfChaos
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 3:30 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: playing on a laptop, can only play with built in moniter

Post by ShadeOfChaos » Mon Sep 08, 2014 2:47 am

I'm not sure what you're trying to get fixed to be honest.

Are you saying that when you plug in the external monitor into your laptop and set it to show on the external monitor, it immediately goes back to the laptop? Or am I missing something? ^^;

sayno
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 1:18 am

Re: playing on a laptop, can only play with built in moniter

Post by sayno » Mon Sep 08, 2014 6:43 am

When I plug in my external monitor, the built in monitor turns off as it should. The only thing is that the external monitor doesn't display anything, just black screen. I'm gonna update my drivers and see if that fixes anything, but revengeance is the only program I'm having trouble with so I'm not sure what else I can do.

User avatar
ShadeOfChaos
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 3:30 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: playing on a laptop, can only play with built in moniter

Post by ShadeOfChaos » Mon Sep 08, 2014 7:31 am

The issue with that would be that you are using a low resolution on a screen that doesn't support it most likely. If possible, try setting the resolution higher on the laptop, quitting to make sure it saves and then try again.

I'm not all too well versed in this, so if that doesn't end up helping, I hope this source does:
http://gaming.stackexchange.com/questio ... esolutions

User avatar
Fireant
Revengeance Engineer
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: playing on a laptop, can only play with built in moniter

Post by Fireant » Mon Sep 08, 2014 12:03 pm

I use 2 monitors so i can see your frustration, unfortunately, there likely is no good solution. Full screen applications will open on main monitor (check your resolution settings and set bigger one as main) or on monitor that they were executed (double click on t:v icon on bigger monitor). Its kinda painful, but i have not found any better solution.

sayno
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 1:18 am

Re: playing on a laptop, can only play with built in moniter

Post by sayno » Tue Sep 09, 2014 7:20 am

alright, i just checked my resolution and it looks like i found my problem. thanks alot for the help guys, i'm gonna try at different resolutions until I find one that works, I'll let you know if I cant sort it out. thanks again, hope to see you in-game.

virus
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:50 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Re: playing on a laptop, can only play with built in moniter

Post by virus » Wed May 27, 2015 6:29 pm

What was your result?

Post Reply